The urge to consume is sometimes rewarded

I was shopping for a gift recently, and I did that thing that you’re not supposed to do — that is, I went to the kinds of places would like to receive a gift from, which are similar to but not quite as the same as the kinds of places my friend would like a gift from.

Anyway, while browsing a bookshop, I did that thing I always do where I see a book on a topic I know nothing about and decide I must know more. Fortunately, I have a well-developed response to this impulse and I didn’t buy anything, but I was tempted by half a dozen titles including Nicholas Rogers’ book on the history of Hallowe’en (a topic about which I know a leetle but not an enormous amount).

976380

Like I said, I didn’t buy it. I came home all virtuous and got an email from an editor asking me for, among other things, a piece on the history of Hallowe’en. I guess I can always claim it as a business expense now.

The urge to consume is sometimes rewarded

Leave a Reply

