Not-so-local history

I had a few minutes to kill on Monday, so I stopped in a charity shop, as is my wont, to look at books. Of all things, I found this:

324765_789

It’s a lavishly-illustrated coffee-table history of the town where I grew up, which would make more sense if the town where I grew up weren’t thousands of miles away. Still, I suppose there must be a fair amount of interchange between Palo Alto and Cambridge.

Anyhow, it’s 21 years old already, so many of the “modern” things in it are gone, making it both an informative look at the town’s history and an unintentional little nostalgia trip. Anyway, it turns out I actually know very little about Palo Alto’s history. I don’t know why — it just seems like the kind of thing I never bothered to ask about when I was younger, although I picked up a thing or two just from the plaques and so on. These days, when Allison and I go back, we try to act more like tourists, which means I’ve learned a little more about history: you can read about visits to historic houses, more historic houses and quirky local attractions on this blog.

So there’s going to be a little while of me flipping through the pages and saying “oh, so that’s who Walter Hays was!” It won’t matter to anyone but me, but that’s OK.

Not-so-local history

One thought on “Not-so-local history

  1. I think it’s just the way of things to not know much about the town where you live these days. My parents ask me stuff about Littleport and I’m all ‘Um… It has my bed in it.;

Leave a Reply

