History misery

As I have mentioned in the past, I tend to teach and research a lot of different subjects simultaneously because of the number of different students I tutor or things I have to write about. This means that sometimes there are commonalities in what I’m working on. At present that commonality is that things are awful.

At present:

  • the history class are about to start the Thirty Years’ War.
  • several of the tutoring students are covering the Palestinian refugee crisis following the 1948 Arab-Israeli war.
  • and I’m preparing for this talk on witch trials.

threejoans1

So basically it’s not what you’d call uplifting.

I don’t know what the overall effect of this is, except that it doesn’t do a lot of good for your faith in human nature. I just hope we get a little more variety soon. Just to give you an example: I was thinking “I hope something more hopeful comes up,” and then I realised that I couldn’t think of anything hopeful at all.

Next time Movie Monday comes up I’m gonna watch an inspirational scientist biography or something.

History misery

Leave a Reply

