Shopping spree!

One of the regular events in my life as an inveterate cheap-book fiend is the sale at the Cambridge University Press bookshop. Today I was in town and I noticed it was on again, so in I went. Paperbacks are £3 and hardbacks are £7, which doesn’t sound like that great a deal until you think about how much academic books typically cost. Some of them are a bit dinged up or missing their dust jackets or whatever, but you can usually find good copies.

20160123_164534

Anyway, I got some things I wanted at good prices, so that was good.

But the thing that really interests me about the sale is … it’s like a field full of rabbit holes. You’re looking at a shelf full of books, and you’ll see something like this:

20160123_12004520160123_12115220160123_12212920160123_122337

Notes on Household Taste? Music from the Tang Court? Disability in the Orroman Arab World, 1500-1800? Ungulate Management in Europe? There was a book in there called “Defending the Correspondence Model of Truth.” I didn’t know it was under attack! Shit, I don’t even know what it is. There are a hundred opportunities to go off down some wild tangent on some topic that not only did I know nothing about, I didn’t even know existed.

Shopping spree!

Leave a Reply

