The fox knows many tricks

As I mentioned earlier, pal Jesse Merlin and I recently started a podcast in which we talk about classic Doctor Who. It’s called Pledge Break and I can’t figure out how to embed the Libsyn player for some reason* but you can find it here.

podcastthumb
This charming guy is our Twitter icon. 

We are both big fans of old-timey Who, of course, but we tend to have “specialties” on the show — that is, Jesse knows about acting and TV-making, and I know about history, so we each talk about our special areas. The thing is that of course the historical and historical-influenced episodes bounce around all over the place. So far on the show I have had to talk about:

  • Saladin, his family and the origins of the Ayyubid Dynasty.
  • Medieval castles and warfare.
  • The Renaissance, broadly, including its dating.
  • Bodiam castle!
  • King John and Magna Carta.
  • Iron Age houses and farms.
  • Arthurian myth and legend.
  • Historical weapons and armour.
  • The 1066 campaign.
  • The dynastic politics of 11th-century northern Europe.
  • The Jacobite rising of 1745 and Jacobites in general.

And that’s for the first season-and-a-bit, i.e. the bit where we have still have many episodes to choose from and don’t have to talk about some stuff I really don’t know anything about, like the French wars of religion or something.

It’s actually pretty good for the brain — one of the nice things about having done as much of this stuff as I’ve done is that I’m usually able to grasp new information pretty quickly. I’m sure I will know a fair amount about religious conflict in France by the time we’re done.

To summarise: listen to my podcast, it’s good. Although the intro’s a bit fuzzy; sorry about that.

 

*The reason is I am a dumbass.

The fox knows many tricks

Leave a Reply

