TV Tuesday: Turn S02 E10, “Gunpowder, Treason and Plot”

OK, so I should probably have waited a little to write my previous post about this show, because I was one episode short.

It’s … an OK episode. I find it hard to explain just what it is that fails to grab me about Turn, or at least about certain of its plots. Like, I do not give a rat’s ass about Benedict Arnold and Peggy. The bit where she’s portrayed as seducing him but really upset about it because she’s genuinely in love with Andre … on paper that’s very moving, but I still thought his ridiculous little braid — a detail so absurd I can only assume it’s authentic — spoiled it somehow.

I kind of hope I'd have the sang-froid to be moved yet unsentimental the night before my execution, but on balance I would prefer not to be hanged.
I kind of hope I’d have the sang-froid to be moved yet unsentimental the night before my execution, but on balance I would prefer not to be hanged.

The battle scene was, unfortunately, another example of the problem that no one has yet solved: big battles take big budgets. This looked like some Sharpe type of fighting, and that is not a good thing.

This series continues to show that I will watch any old toss as long as it has muskets and gadgets in it. Also, it is great that Robert Rogers just straight-up calls the characters a “plucky young band of freedom fighters.”

This is a short post, but then this episode inspired short feelings. Hopefully we can find something a little more gripping for our next Tuesday outing.

TV Tuesday: Turn S02 E10, “Gunpowder, Treason and Plot”

One thought on “TV Tuesday: Turn S02 E10, “Gunpowder, Treason and Plot”

  1. One of the things I noticed watching the 100 was that it had really great crowd scenes with a really good sense of numbers.

    Game of Thrones of course answers this with lots of opening and aftermath; not much actual battle.

Leave a Reply

