Movie Monday: Pompeii (2014)

I know this isn’t strictly a Movie Monday type of film, but I was bored and it was on Amazon.

Pompeii-2014-720p-Full-HD-izle1

I’m not going to bother summarising the plot, because there’s a wonderful review by our own skerryflower over on sister blog The Bad Movie Marathon. So I’m just going to say that I spent the first thirty or forty-five minutes of this thing wondering about some of the oddball choices the filmmakers had made, such as calling Jon Snurr “the Celt” in a setting where the vast majority of people, insofar as anyone said “Celt,” would think of themselves as Celts.

And then I realised something about the structure of this film which I will express in visual form.

equation

All of it makes sense then! Russel Crowe is “the Spaniard,” which makes (sort of) sense since he isn’t actually in Spain and therefore it’s a distinctive trait. So Kit Harrington is “the Celt” even though that’s like a guy in Texas calling himself Texas Pete.

Though I’m not convinced that term was in common use any more than I’m convinced that Pompeii saw itself as a totally distinct polity menaced by Rome rather than a part of the Roman empire. But whatever; this is a Rome movie, so Rome has to be the evil empire no matter how wildly inappropriate that concept is.

Movie Monday: Pompeii (2014)

Leave a Reply

