Abraham Lincoln INFINITE COMBO

I have a habit of getting periodically obsessed with things that I neither know anything about nor have any reason to care about. For the last couple of months, it’s been competitive fighting games. I have barely played a fighting game in my life, except for a little Soul Blade (then called Soul Edge) at university and the usual unsuccessful Street Fighter II button mashing in junior high. So why am I watching videos of gameplay on Youtube? I have no idea.

However, it did inspire a few thoughts. For one thing, I think the characters in some games are really charming. Take, for instance, Dudley from Street Fighter III and IV:

An English boxer with rolled-up sleeves and a curly moustache who tells people they have no dignity? J’approve.

The old-timiness of Dudley made me think about other fighting games. Did you know for instance, that there’s a homebrew fighting game based on Les Miserables? It’s called Arm Joe, for reasons that make sense in Japanese. You can choose from a cast of characters including Javert, the Thenardiers (who are a single character), Valjean, Enjolras, Marius, an unnamed policeman, Robo-Valjean, and loveable bunny(?) Ponpon. So there are some deviations from the canon is what I’m saying. Anyway, observe:

 

Anyway, the spectacle of a fighting game character just straight shooting a dude with a musket inspired the thought that I like games where you get to play historical characters. I know you have leaders in games like Civilisation, where the fact that Gandhi is a murderous psychopath is a running gag. But I mean actually playing those characters as your characters. And a fighting game could actually be a fun way of doing that!

The obvious person who springs to mind as a potential character is Abraham Lincoln, or, as he’s known in these parts, “American Major General Abraham Lincoln.” (This is a joke that like three other people, including my wife, will get.) Lincoln himself was a big dude with some history in the grapplin’ business.

lincoln-wrestling

Long reach, mostly throws, I’m guessing.

So yeah, now I want to see this game, in which major historical figures brawl to determine who is the greatest.

Plato was also a champion wrestler, as it happens.  I’m just sayin’.

Abraham Lincoln INFINITE COMBO

6 thoughts on “Abraham Lincoln INFINITE COMBO

    1. That was very much on my mind when I made this post — I even linked to it on G+. I think someone showed me Brandon Bird’s site way back when I worked at @Home. I was impressed to find out Erica knew him!

  1. Ev says:

    “I say, Cholmondeley, fancy a round or two of Mortal Fisticuffs?”

    “Capital idea, Featherstonehaugh! I’ll have Wormwood stoke the boiler for the Babbage Engine.”

  2. The sad tragedy is that this game exists. And it is terrible.

    Here is Deadliest Warrior: Legends. I’ve picked William Wallace Vs Alexander the Great, but there’s plenty: Shaka Zulu Vs Attila the Hun, Hannibal Vs Vlad the Impaler… have fun.

    Personally, I have a lot of affinity for the classic Body Blows. I have a great love of a man who looks suspiciously like IRS beating up a ninja on a rusting USSR naval graveyard.

Leave a Reply

